What is Wissendurst?


 A sound knowledge about research methodologies plays an important role in shaping the career of medicos. It is important to build this skill right from Undergraduate level. WISSENDURST is an intercollege, undergraduate & postgraduate, academic cum research meet organized by ESIC Medical College & PGIMSR, Chennai. The program aims at kindling the thirst for knowledge and wisdom among undergraduate medical students.

Germans have precise words to describe important, beautiful and meaningful events & phenomena. WISSENDURST is the German word for “thirst for wisdom”. The one-day exclusive academic cum research meet will offer a hands-on workshop related to health research, opportunities to present undergraduate and postgraduate student research in Oral Paper or Poster format, a fiery debate competition & an inspiring ESIC-FMES-WISSENDUST Oration in which the students will hear the rich life experiences and insights of a seasoned senior medical professional, that will inspire and motivate them.

WISSENDURST is an event that is not to be missed by medical students because:

  • The event is dedicated to academic medicine and excellence in undergraduate and postgraduate research
  • The emphasis is on improving quality of undergraduate and postgraduate research through capacity building
  • The focus is on providing a platform for networking and collaboration among students across medical colleges
  • The main aim is to provide an opportunity to showcase undergraduate and postgraduate student research and facilitate knowledge exchange in an open, positive, constructive and productive environment.

About ESIC Chennai


Employees State insurance Corporation is a health insurance scheme exclusively for employees with  a monthly wage of less than Rs.21,000 employed in factories, industries and companies where the insurance premium is contributed by the employees by the wages, the employers as well as funding received from central and state government. ESI has hospitals and dispensaries all over the country to deliver health care services to employees who are insured under the scheme.

Set up in the heart of the city and against the backdrop of the prestigious ESI hospital which has been serving the people for more than four decades now, ESIC MEDICAL COLLEGE & PGIMSR, K.K.Nagar, Chennai strikes a balance between the knowledge of the experienced and the energy of the young. The college is affiliated to the TamilNadu Dr.M.G.R. Medical University and is in operation since 2013.

Empowered with dedicated faculty and enthusiastic staff, it encourages the students towards realising the potential and achieving their goals. The college has a 500 seater airconditioned auditorium, 250 seater digitally enabled conference hall, 3 digitally enabled lecture theatres, and well equipped laboratories and demonstration halls for all departments. 

State of the art infrastructure across all disciplines of medicine helps to put forth the best available care for its patients and provides a unique learning curve for the students.

The college continuously encourages both teachers and students foraying into research and conducts periodical medical education progammes with the perspective of improving the health care systems in India.


organizing committee

Members of the Wissendurst Organizing Committee

Patron :

  •   Dr. Sowmya Sampath, Dean

Vice  Patrons :

  • Dr. P.N. Shanmugasundaram, Medical Superintendent
  • Dr. Bhuvaneswari, Deputy Registrar
  • Dr. A.R. Malathy, Professor, General Medicine
  • Dr. Mohanambal, Professor, Obgyn
  • Dr. Shobana, Professor, Paediatrics 

Organizing chairpersons :   

  •  Dr. Shirish Kumar Chavan, Professor, Anaesthesia
  •  Dr. Seethalakshmi, Registrar and Professor, Pharmacology

 Vice chairpersons :    

  • Dr. Maya Menon, Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Dr. K. Meenakshisundaram, Professor, Pathology 
  • Dr. Srinivasaraghavan, Professor, Forensic Medicine
  • Dr. Deivasigamani Kuberan, Assoc. Professor, Community Medicine

Organizing Secretaries   :  

  •  Dr. Ravi, Professor, ENT
  •  Dr. Manisha Mane, Professor, Microbiology
  •  Dr. Madhubala V., Professor, Biochemistry
  • Dr. Rajarajan, Professor, Orthopaedics
  • Dr. Suma Elangovan, Assoc. Prof., Ophthalmology
  • Dr. Sathish Selvakumar A, Asst. professor., Pathology

Co-ordinators  :

  •  Dr. Usha Kothandaraman, Professor, Anatomy
  •  Dr. Swapnatai Meshram, Vice Principal and Professor, Physiology
  •  Dr. Uma Maheshwari, Professor, Physiology

General Convenor

  •  Dr. Vijayaprasad Gopichandran, Asst. Prof., Community medicine

Student Convenors:

  • Vinod.H.K, 3rd MBBS
  • Sivanesh N, 3rd MBBS
  • Sahana.S, 3rd MBBS
  • Rosy Joboy, 3rd MBBS

Scientific committee

Members of the Scientific Committee


General Medicine : 

  • Dr.G.Kothai, Assoc. professor,
  • Dr. K. Sankar, Assoc. professor,
  • Dr. Abarna Devi, Asst. professor,
  • Dr. Jisa George, Asst. professor .

General Surgery :

  • Dr. Bhanumathi Giridharan, Assoc. Prof
  • Dr.Pankaj Surana, Asst. professor
  • Dr. Byomokesh Patro, Asst.  professor.

Obstetrics and Gynecology

  • Dr. Veeraraghavan , Asst. professor
  • Dr. Anitha, Asst. professor
  • Dr. Vanithamani, Asst. professor

Paediatrics :

  • Dr. Aparna, Asst. professor
  • Dr. Ramya, Asst. professor

Orthopaedics :

  • Dr.Vijayan B, Asst. professor

Anaesthesia :

  • Dr. Ilango Ganesan, Assoc. professor
  • Dr. Aswini, Asst. professor
  • Dr. Deepak, Asst. professor

ENT  :

  • Dr. Chaithanya Babjee, Asst. professor

Ophthalmology :

  • Dr. Suma Elangovan, Assoc. professor
  • Dr. Senthamarai, NFSG
  • Dr. Malathi V.K., Asst. professor

Community medicine

  • Dr. Devidas Tondare,  Professor
  • Dr. Anuradha R, Asst. professor
  • Dr. Madhanraj K, Asst. professor
  • Dr. Aruna Patil, Asst. professor

Pathology :

  • Dr. Shanmugapriya, Assoc. professor
  • Dr. Rajeshwari V. Assoc. Professor
  • Dr. Sathish Selvakumar A, Asst. professor
  • Dr. Priyavadhana, Asst. Professor


  • Dr. Anandhi Lakshmanan, Asst. professor
  • Dr. Saraswathi M.P. , Asst. Professor


  • Dr. Vinay M, Professor
  • Dr. Vijayakumar A.E., Asst. professor


  • Dr. Asha, Professor
  • Dr. Mallikarjun Adibatti, Asst. professor

Physiology : 

  • Dr. Snekalatha , Asst. profeesor
  • Dr. Sugapriya, Asst. professor

Biochemistry :

  • Dr. Veerendra Kumar, Asst. professor